Connect with us

Artists Reviews

Iceprince – Super Cool Cat (Artist Review)



Born Panshak Henri Zamani in the city of Minna, Niger State, Ice started rapping at school social events in his teens and parlayed that experience into a recording career in 2004 after relocating to Lagos and teaming up with fellow Nigerian rappers and producers M.I, Jesse Jagz, Ruby, Lindsey, Eve, and Taz, who would eventually become known as the “Loopy Crew.”

He had his first taste of success in 2009 with the single “Badman,” which took home first place honors at that year’s Hennessy Artistry competition, which led to Ice signing a record deal with Chocolate City, one of the largest and most successful labels in Africa.

A popular Nigerian hip-hop star and actor, Ice Prince first found success in 2011 with the release of his debut album, Everybody Loves Ice Prince. The LP included the chart-topping single “Oleku,” which would go on to become one of the most remixed Nigerian songs of all time. He continued to hone his unifying blend of hip-hop, R&B, dancehall, raga, Afrobeat, reggae, highlife, and soul on subsequent efforts like Jos to the World (2016) and C.O.L.D. (2018).

Prominent features on tracks by the likes of Taikoon, DJ Neptune, and Bez preceded the release of the hit single “Oleku,” which featured vocals by Brymo and appeared on his debut album, 2011’s Everybody Loves Ice Prince. The LP also spawned the hits “Superstar” and “Juju” and went on to win Best Rap Album at the 2012 Headies Awards.

Fire of Zamani arrived the following year and landed hits with “Aboki,” “More,” and “I Swear ft French Montana” the latter of which featured guest spots from Shaydee as well.

Despite being named Vice President of Chocolate City the year prior, Ice left the label in 2016 and released his third full-length effort, Jos to the World, via his own Super Cool Cats label. The C.O.L.D. EP arrived two years later and featured appearances by Remy Baggins and K-Switch, among others.


– Everybody Loves Ice Prince (2011)
– Fire of Zamani (2013)
– Jos to the World (2016)
– Trash Can (EP) (2015)
– C.O.L.D (EP) (2018)


Nigerian Entertainment award for Best Rapper – 2014
BET Award for Best International Act: Africa – 2013
Headies Award Best Rap Album – 2012


World Music Award for World’s Best Male Artist – 2014
World Music Award for World’s Best Live Act – 2014
World Music Award for World’s Best Entertainer of the Year – 2014


All Iceprince’s Music and Videos are available on Okayvibes Music for Downloads.